Long Overdue Training Update

My training for Wine and Dine has been swimming along quite nicely, but my lack of a laptop has made blogging a little more difficult.  Hopefully I’ll get it to Apple sooner than later so I can get up and running again.

With Wine and Dine next week I am so happy to say that we are in taper mode.  Due to the crazy rain here this week we didn’t run yesterday, but should be able to get in a 30 minute maintenance run on Thursday and a 4 miler on Saturday.  We’ll do our Tuesday and Thursday maintenance runs next week before heading off to Disney!


This past Saturday we did a 13 miler as our last long run for Wine & Dine.  It was such a weird run.  We were a little chatty at the beginning, but still keeping a decent pace.  However, I hit a wall around 8.5-9 miles, which was an odd time to do that for me.  We ended up with about a 15 minute per mile pace.  Not my strongest run at about a minute and a half to two minutes slower than my normal pace.  But I was able to push through at the end and run some strong intervals so I’m going to hope that I got this fluke out of my system and we’re ready for Wine and Dine!  I don’t want to see those balloon ladies next weekend!


My husband has been a great encouragement and running partner during Wine and Dine training.  I think we’ve finally gotten this running together thing down.  I just may have to keep him around while training for Princess!

How are all the fellow Wine and Diners feeling about their prep for next weekends race!  It should be a lot of fun!

2 responses to “Long Overdue Training Update

  1. Eek so close now! Can’t wait! Keep checking the weather forecast obsessively but it’s still changing all the time! Good luck with your race, wave if you see us 🙂

    • I can’t believe it’s so close! How did that happen??? You can never tell with the weather here in FL, but fingers crossed it will good. Just pack for any occasion, no matter the forecast! Good luck to you guys too! I’ll wave and say hello, please do the same if you see my crazy, red headed self!

Leave a Reply

