Sunday Training Synopsis

11713661_1212983738727586_8111785794653764204_o

Each week I hope to share with you my training for the week for the Wine & Dine Half Marathon, and eventually for the Glass Slipper Challenge.  I had hoped to have this up earlier, but sometimes life gets in the way.  I am following the Jeff Galloway plan for experienced runners on the runDisney site.

This weeks plan was a 30 minute run on both Tuesday and Thursday and a 4 mile run on Saturday.  Here’s how my week went…

Tuesday: Ran 2.35 miles in 30 minutes.  I was super happy to see my minutes per mile with a 12 at the front.  It’s a been a long time coming since I saw that, especially with the heat and humidity here in Florida.

IMG_3642 IMG_3643

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday:  If you follow me on Instagram you know that I mysteriously hurt my ankle sometime on Wednesday.  It drives me nuts that I can’t pinpoint what I did to it!  Wednesday night I iced and elevated it and took some Advil, but at my husband’s urging took Thursday off so that I didn’t further injury myself.  It’s early in the game, but I really hate my training being derailed, even a day.  But at least it was a short run day, and the ankle was feeling better by the weekend.

IMG_3661

Saturday: The weather Saturday was so perfect!  I haven’t had run weather like that in a LONG time here in Florida!  I set out for my 4 miles thinking how gorgeous it was.  And no less than a quarter mile away from home or so I switch into my second walk interval and tweak my back.  My back is already temperamental at best so I was concerned, but I knew I’d already missed one run this week and I really didn’t want to skip the long run.  I knew there was a point I could turn back towards home if need be so I pushed through and got my 4 miles in.  It was painful.  Every step hurt.  But I got it done, and that’s what matters.

IMG_3684

IMG_3690

 

 

 

 

 

 

This next week I have two 30 minute runs and 5 miles on Saturday.  Hoping to see continued time improvement and that my back feels better and is up to the challenge this week.

Happy training!

3 responses to “Sunday Training Synopsis

  1. Sorry to hear that you have been dealing with injuries. That’s never fun and I know your pain (fractured wrist here). Good luck with this week’s training!

  2. Way to keep at it! Too bad about the injury, but listen to your body and don’t over do it. Those are some great times!

Leave a Reply

