runDisney Registration Madness!

MK_GROTTOACHAR_7204683416

After running the Enchanted 10K Princess Half weekend in February I knew I wanted to do more and a half was the next step on my running bucket list.  As a matter of fact, when I met Jeff Galloway at the marathon weekend Expo I told him so, and I hadn’t even run the races yet!  Originally I thought I would run Princess Half in 2016, however my husband had the bright idea to run Wine & Dine together…this year!  Say what?????

Being crazy, and up for the challenge, we decided this was our year and I watched AP registration for the race go at lightning speed.  I couldn’t believe how quickly it went, or how many people were still going to need to register on St. Paddy’s Day!  Last Tuesday I found myself nervous, with my stomach in knots, all over race registration!  I was poised with my computer ready prior to noon when registration opened.  I knew I had to register both myself, and the hubs, and I was worried only one of us would get in!

Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 10.25.23 AM

I was refreshing the page over and over again until it went live.  I registered myself with only one issue.  (Hello, forgetting to update the expiration date on my card!  Can you say nervous much?)  And was able to successfully register the hubs right after!  Woo hoo!  I guess the luck of the Irish was with us that day!

wineanddine

The race registration left me shaking.  I was full of adrenaline.  Registration had been stressful because I was worried about how quickly Wine and Dine would sell out this year with no Tower of Terror race, and people seeking redemption from last year’s Splash and Dash!  I was beyond thrilled that we were in!

Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 10.25.11 AM

And then it began, the post race discussions!  Joy for friends who were able to successfully register!  (And finding out my runner in crime from Princess had secretly registered!)  But the disappointment for those who were unable to register.  The negative posts were frustrating.  It kind of killed my joy.  That’s when you have to step away from the internet for a bit and focus on the task at hand ahead of you!

The hubs and I celebrated that night with corned beef and cabbage and an adult beverage!  It will be both of our first half marathons, and our first night race!  We are so excited to tackle this adventure together!  Disney is always magical, and runDisney is a prime example, but training and crossing that finish line together will be the most magical experience of all!

2 responses to “runDisney Registration Madness!

  1. Britsrundisney

    We also registered for the Wine and Dine half this year (our first half and our first rundisney race), I actually woke up on the morning with “its registration day” swirling around in my head just like Anna says it!

    Like you we were really worried about it, but being online refreshing the page as it opened we were both able to register with no problems at all… we didn’t even have to go into this virtual queue I kept seeing everyone mention!

    Can’t wait to run it now! May the next 7 months of training be good ones for all of us 🙂

    • No virtual cues for us either thank goodness! I can only imagine how maddening it is having experienced it for another runDisney race! Congrats on being registered for your first half! Fingers crossed we train injury free and have great first half marathons in November!

Leave a Reply

