Fitness Friday – Let’s Get Real!

PHM medals

A while back I decided I was going to run at 5K at Disney.  This seemed like an insurmountable goal for a girl who could barely run a mile in high school, when I weighed a whole lot less.  Finding out I was pregnant pushed that goal back to 2015, as I knew I wouldn’t be ready to tackle this challenge right after having a baby.  Then I had a crazy thought…with all this time to train, why not run a 10K too?  Right?  Why not?  After all, it would be a good way to “lose the baby weight” and get back in shape.

It’s been a long road so far.  I started out with C25K, and have switched to the Jeff Galloway program.  It just fits my running style better.  Tomorrow I am to set out and run FIVE miles.  FIVE.  Just for fun.  I must be crazy!  But I am determined to accomplish this goal!

26f9328981b0a59fa47ba0f780ccee5fThis journey has not always been easy.  I have struggled through some runs.  I have struggled just to get out of bed some mornings.  What I’ve learned about myself though is that I am capable of so much more than I believe.  I honestly wasn’t sure that I could complete a 10K when I signed up, and I still have moments of doubt, but my head is in the game and I firmly believe that I will cross that finish line in February without being swept!

10Kmedal

And the crazy thing is I just might continue running.  I may even have my eyes set on a half the next time.  Funny how one step and one goal can change us!

Running-Inspirational-Quote

So here’s to running.  To earning bling.  To becoming a better me one stride at a time.

2 responses to “Fitness Friday – Let’s Get Real!

  1. Best of luck with your run! I too started from scratch last year and went with the C25k programme, now I’m starting to train for Dopey in 2016! I ran in the Wine&Dine in November in Disney and it was so much fun! You will have a blast during your disney runs! I’m following along and excited for your next update!

  2. Thank you! I have been quietly training along, but am trying to put it all out there so anyone who may be intimidated or scared like I am can see what they are capable of too! Good luck training for Dopey! That will be an awesome accomplishment! I am actually hoping to do Wine & Dine someday with my husband!

Leave a Reply

