runDisney: One new mom’s dream to become a princess!

Image

This past weekend many of my friends and co-workers participated in the various runDisney events at Walt Disney World.  Prior to finding out I was expecting our newest mousketeer I had planned to join them in the 5K.  I bought a jogging stroller and downloaded a C25K ap, but that all fell to the wayside when we got the happy news.  So it was with happiness and pride  that I watched the medals rack up for the dedicated runners I know.  Some even collected the coveted, inaugural glass slipper!  I look at these women and am truly inspired by them.  And so, with a little fear and trepidation, this new mom is committing to run Disney at next year’s Princess Half Marathon Weekend.

Here’s the thing…I hate running.  I think it should be reserved for when your life is in danger.  And even then I hope I have a weapon to defend myself and cut off the zombie’s head or that I can outrun the person next to me.  Ok, who am I kidding, I need the weapon.  That being said, I have been in a time of personal transition.  Welcoming a new baby, moving to a new duty station with our family and I need some goals to get back in shape and back to me.  And while this may be a bit personal, this journey is both personal and professional because I can meld my love of Disney and planning magic with my desire to regain my confidence and be a healthier, happier me.

So I have a long journey ahead.  I do have a C25K ap on my phone and a single jogging stroller at my disposal so that means I can only make so many excuses.  Time to earn myself a trip to Disney, and a medal or two!  Anyone want to join me on this adventure to run Disney?

Leave a Reply

